New Week, New Recipes!

We are having a super snowy and cold winter here in Michigan, which doesn’t seem to be letting up anytime soon! I’m going to be completely honest…I am sick of the treadmill. Sure I can hop on and run 8 miles, but that is so boring. I miss throwing on shorts with a tank top and heading out my front door to run in the sunshine. Running outside is an adventure and every run is filled with its own experiences; I miss it. However, while I have been running on the dreadmill I have been able to watch a lot of cool marathon documentaries and even some videos for my classes, so I guess there are some benefits to all of this.

Since there have been so many snow days this semester, I have found some extra time on my hands to try out new recipes! All of the pictures have been updated to my instagram @healthylife12, so feel free to follow since I post multiple times a week 🙂

My first recipe (which was actually a homework assignment) was amazing! It was a healthy version of spinach artichoke dip and it did not disappoint! It comes out to be 58 calories per 1/4 cup serving. I found it off of @mindovermunch’s instagram page. She has an awesome instagram with great healthy recipes!Image

The second recipe of the week was my favorite! For dinner one night I was craving a sweet potato, but I wanted to switch things up a bit, so I hit the internet and found the perfect recipe: BBQ sweet potato quinoa patties topped with caramelized onions and mushrooms! Image

Start by sautéing the mushrooms and onions with EVOO and salt/pepper to taste. Continue until onions are transparent and then set aside.

Make 1/4 cup of quinoa and boil a medium-sized sweet potato.

Once the sweet potato is soft, transfer to another bowl, when quinoa is done, mash them both together. Add 2 tbs of flour, 1 tsp of paprika, 2 tbs of BBQ sauce, and salt/pepper to taste. After that is thoroughly mixed, form into patties. Heat the onions, mushrooms, and oil back up to medium-high heat and place patties into the pan, 2-3 minutes each side. Afterwards I placed mine on a bed of baby spinach leaves and it was delicious!

I had leftover quinoa, so for the following morning I added it to my oatmeal! Oatmeal is so versatile and I can never get enough of it! I didn’t have any measurements for this recipe, so you can just play around with it if you would like.

Cinnamon Cranberry Walnut Quinoa Oats!

-Old Fashioned Oats -Quinoa -Cinnamon – Dried Cranberries -Crushed Walnuts – Sprinkled with Brown Sugar

That’s it! Super easy and simple!

So it looks like i’m going to be snowed in again today. Maybe i’ll have time to whip up some new healthy treats 🙂 Have a good Saturday everyone! Don’t forget to get up and get active! Maybe even try something new! 🙂

Leave a Reply

