Uncategorized

Just Keep Chuggin Along!

Hello all!

Wow so the snow is not letting up here in the mitten and I can’t even remember the last time we have had a winter like this! I know sometimes the weather makes me want to bundle up and just watch movies all day, but the snow is no reason to halt your physical activity. Don’t get me wrong I love running, but when it gets below 30 I struggle to hit the trail for a run. I still manage to get out for a run here or there and use the treadmill a couple times a week, however I take advantage of the winter to allow me to switch up my routines and be active in different ways. My favorite way to escape the cold is hot yoga; it feels so good to be drenched in sweat after a vigorous practice. I also cross train with a program at my old high school which is very much like bootcamp and strength training becomes my bff. (Ladies do not be afraid of weights, our bodies are not designed the same way as men therefore our bodies will not become manly by lifting heavy weights). Working on core strength and leg strength will be very beneficial to my marathon training when spring hits. It’s also great to be able to map progress by increasing weights and toning the body.

Winter is such a good time to play around with your workout routines and try new things. Get out and enjoy the snow! Two weeks ago my boyfriend and I threw on our snowshoes and walked the trails at a local park for a couple hours and surprisingly I woke up sore the next morning because I had been using different muscles in my legs to lug around those big shoes. Also I am super excited to learn how to snowboard next week! It is definitely going to be a challenge, but it will be fun! Sledding is another awesome way to get out and be active, -not to mention tons of fun! No need to sit inside and wait for spring to arrive, there are tons of great things to take advantage of during the winter!

I found myself with some free time a few days ago, so I decided to pull out my little food processor and experiment! I made a some delicious homemade hummus and even some cinnamon almond butter!

Image

I have a slight intolerance to sesame seeds so I didn’t add any tahini in my recipe which probably would have made it creamier, but it still tasted yummy!

Hummus: 1 Can of chickpeas (drained and rinsed), if you have time I recommend peeling the outer part of the bean off to enhance creaminess, 1 clove of garlic, 1/2 tsp salt, 2 tsp ground cumin, 2 tbsp olive oil. Procedure: place all ingredients in the processor and blend until smooth texture. Water may need to be added here or there.

Almond butter: 1/2 cup almonds, 1 tsp of cinnamon, 1/8 tsp salt. Procedure: this is a long process, so be patient. Place ingredients in processor and let blend for 5 minutes. Scrape edges of processor since the fine almond pieces will stick to it and just continue blending and scraping for a total around 10-15 minutes or until a creamy smooth texture is present.

I plan on tweaking these recipes and experimenting with different nuts to try out new nut-butters, but these are super easy and are great healthy homemade alternatives for snacks!

I am still working on my blog as a whole and hopefully by next week I can get a new tab up with some workouts and my first half-marathon training guide!

Enjoy your week everyone! Happy Hump Day!

Leave a comment