Winter Blues

I am definitely slacking on the blog, but life has been throwing me some curveballs lately. So for starters, I am drowning in homework and study guides for an upcoming week filled with exams :/ I probably shouldn’t be taking the time to blog right now, but my brain needs a break. A lot has happened since my last post (good and bad).

I’ll start with the bad and get it out of the way. I have been sick for about 2 weeks now and I just can’t shake this bug. The first week I felt something was wrong and I just pushed through my workouts thinking I was getting better, however on Tuesday I knew something was up because my body rejected every step of my run. I am not one to sit on the couch bundled up for days when I am sick because I feel like I am wasting time, but that is exactly what I have done since Wednesday. I am really hoping that tomorrow my cough goes away so I can get back to working out (fingers-crossed). The benefit of all this down time is that I have been able to rest and complete a lot of homework!

On to the good news now 🙂 I have decided that my first marathon will be October 19th which is the Detroit Free Press Marathon! I also found a training plan that I will start when spring arrives. I promise I will post more details from my previous half-marathon and training plans soon, I just need to make it through this crazy week first. Another great thing I recently did was try out skiing for the first time! It was such a thrill and I am currently planning a trip to go again asap! I never used to be one for winter and this winter I have tried so many new things to keep me active, I don’t really mind the snow anymore.

Even though being sick is awful, I did manage to whip up some great smoothies that felt good on my throat!

This one is great if you have a sweet tooth! Ingredients: Frozen banana slices, spoonful of peanut butter, almond milk, and cacao nibs. It is my go-to alternative to ice cream!

Image

I paired this one up with a salad at lunch time after working out. Ingredients: Strawberries, Mango, 1 orange, coconut water, Acai Powder.

Image

And this guy right here was my Vitamin-C loaded, Immune boosting smoothie! Today I was not in the mood for real food, but I know that if I want to get better I need to fuel my body properly. Ingredients: 1 banana, a handful of mango slices, 1 orange, a handful of spinach, almond milk, ice cubes.

Image

I hope everyone has a good upcoming week and remember, stay healthy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

