Crunch Time!

IMG_1617

Wooooo! Last Saturday I headed out for my longest run before my race on the 26th! Luckily the weather was gorgeous and for the first time this year I found myself complaining about how hot it was and then I had to tell myself to shut up because there is nothing better than running in just shorts and a tank top.

Let me just start by saying that this was not one of my favorite runs, but I needed to do it just to give myself a confidence boost for the 13.1. Β Before I took off I was still a little sore from my workout the previous day, which I now know that I won’t be working out hardcore the day before my long runs anymore (not sure what I was thinking). Just as I was getting into my groove around mile 1, my ipod died…I began thinking what on earth am I suppose to listen to for the next 11 miles, but it really wasn’t that terrible! Once I got past the point of worrying about not having my pump up music, I got lost in my own thoughts and it was very relieving. However, I did struggle when my body started to ache and my mind couldn’t ignore it. I survived though and mentally that was all I needed.

From day 1 I told myself that this race is not about time because I am simply not physically prepared enough to beat my previous time, but that is okay! I did find myself getting a tad bit upset when I looked over my mile times after I finished and then I realized that I should be happy that I was able to crank out 12 miles after such a long and cold winter. I’m done beating myself up, I am so thankful for my body and the amazing things it can do.

There is a downfall to training for a half-marathon in only a month and that is the increased risk for injury. I managed to injure my hip and after I finish this race I am going to be backing off of really long distance running for a while. I am being really careful for the next week and a half to try and let it heal as best as it can, which has included lots of stretching, foam-rolling, and ibuprofen. Next race I will be taking my own advice and training with plenty of time because I have a feeling this won’t be the last I hear from my stubborn hip this season. Β From the research i’ve done, trochanteric bursitis is common in runners and is simply an overuse problem. A trainer mentioned to me that since there is bruising I may have slightly torn the muscle, so I am trying to be as careful as possible. If anyone has any advice or things that will help, feel free to share!

10 Days unitl race day! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

