On to Week 4!

I cannot believe how fast summer is going by! I’ve just completed 3 weeks of training and the fourth of July has come and gone! This week was a recovery week with a set up of 3-5-3-6. It actually worked out in my favor because with fireworks on Friday night, I didn’t have to worry about waking up in the morning super early for a really long run. The biggest change in my body that I am feeling is how tired I am. My goal is to start going to bed at a reasonable hour, however it is summer so I am enjoying late night bonfires and not worrying about waking up for an 8am class. 

On Thursday I purchased a new pair of Brooks running shoes and my feet are so happy 🙂 While I was at the store I had a huge decision to make between this flashy pair of New Balances or the super comfy Brooks. I absolutely love bright colored shoes, however the Brooks were a lot more supportive and fit better so I had to go with them. My previous New Balances were pushing close to 400 miles so it was time for some new ones, but I will be keeping them as a back up pair. I also purchased a hydration belt because I hate carrying water bottles on my long runs. I ran with the belt yesterday on my 6 miler and after about a mile I got used to it, but it still just feels different so I hope after a few more runs with it, I won’t even notice it anymore. 

This upcoming week I up my mileage again to 3-6-3-11, so its back to business! I had to rearrange some of my running days since I am leaving for a camping trip on Friday and I will not be able to run 11 miles where I am going on Saturday. The plan is to run Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, rest on Thursday, and then wake up early and get 11 miles in on Friday morning before I leave. This week is going to be about discipline, but I am constantly finding new music for my ipod and other things to keep this whole journey fun and exciting. I am starting to look into options for energy on my long runs to test them out and see what works and what doesn’t, so if anyone has any suggestions please leave your comments! 🙂

Have a good week everyone!

Leave a Reply

