Heavy Feet

I am officially on to week 5 of my marathon training and to be honest, week 4 kicked my butt. I started my second semester of summer classes and I am currently in a weight training class which may have contributed to my crappy week of running. After my first 3 mile run of the week I went to lift weights for my homework and I may have jumped into things a little too quickly :/ When I woke up on Tuesday morning for my 6 mile run it felt like I had pulled my hamstring. Luckily it was raining that morning, so I decided to wait until the afternoon to run. In the meantime I made some delicious muffins which I will share the recipe because they are great! Back to my hamstring though, I headed out that afternoon for my run and I made it about a mile and my body wanted nothing to do with 5 more miles. It was a really hard decision because I feel so defeated when I cannot finish a run, but I knew it was for the best and I headed back to the car. On Wednesday I took an easy 3 mile run hoping to loosen things up before my 11 mile run on Friday. When I went to class on Thursday night and headed into the gym to log our weight training session, I snuck on the bike and rode for 30 minutes because I was not going to risk having any sore muscles the following morning. On Friday I woke up at 6am and prepped for my 11 mile run, then hit the trail at 8am. Those 11 miles were the best miles all week and I could not have been happier. I even tested out eating a piece of a granola bar when I got to mile 9 to see how it would effect my stomach and I didn’t have any problems! However, it is really hard to chew food and run at the same time so I will have to try and get used to it. I am hoping that this week will be a lot better than last week and I will knock out 12 miles this Saturday no problem!

On to the good part now! So on Tuesday morning it was really rainy and I thought it would be the perfect time to head into the kitchen to whip up some muffins for pre-run fuel on days I do not have time to eat breakfast before. I headed over to a good friend of mine’s blog because she has posted some really awesome recipes!

http://simplificlife.blogspot.com/

I really wanted to make her Peanut Butter Banana Muffin recipe, however I was lacking coconut flour 😦 If you are prepared unlike myself and have everything to make them, do it! You cannot go wrong with peanut butter and bananas at all!

I came across another similar recipe which I was able to make because I had the ingredients and here is what my final product looked like!

Check it out!

IMG_1609

 

I hope everyone has a great week! 🙂

Leave a Reply

