Run Happy :)

The last couple weeks of training have been great! This past Saturday I ran in the Labor Day 30k which was the first time I ran 18.5 miles. Surprisingly, I placed 2nd in my age group and had a very challenging run. Going into the race I had heard that the course was challenging and hilly, but my first half-marathon was full of hills so I wasn’t too worried. Oh boy was I wrong! Not only was it a challenging distance, it was probably 85% hills and not just little inclines, i’m talking huge long hills.  At mile 3 I was thinking “oh my gosh, what did I get myself into?” A great thing about this small town race was that my boyfriend was able to ride his bike next to me from mile 11 to 17.5 and it was so nice to have him there to encourage me. Once mile 16 hit,  my legs were telling me they were just about done and at mile 17 I was starting to doubt the whole marathon thing. I pushed those thoughts out of my mind because I knew I had to finish the 18.5 and when I crossed the finish line I was drenched in sweat and I was so excited I finished!

IMG_1881IMG_1884

 

I spent the rest of the day soaking my feet in epsom salt and reclining in a chair outside enjoying the weather. I’m not going to lie or act like it was easy, i’m still struggling to walk up and down the stairs, but it was worth it. On Sunday I took my puppy for a walk to get my legs moving otherwise I wasn’t going to move from the couch.  I also took a two hour epsom salt bath to relieve some of the stiffness and it was heaven, I highly recommend epsom salts for anyone dealing with sore muscles!

So I know there are a lot of runners and athletes that finish their big race and head straight for the free burgers and beer at the after-party and kudos to those of you who do it, you deserve it! However, I am not one of those people. This is the health-freak side of me speaking, but after races or just my extremely long runs, I always do my best to feed my body nothing but the best because I believe the hours following the run are crucial. Sure I’ll have ice cream that night, but my lunch and dinners and typically loaded with everything my body needs to start the recovery process. Not to mention, it takes my body a really long time to switch back from fueling on GU’s to being able to eat regular food. On Sunday though my pizza cravings were at an all time high! I have been craving pizza since training week #5 and I figured after such a great accomplishment I would treat myself.  No I did not go out to Little Ceasar’s and buy a pizza, I headed to the store and made my own 🙂

IMG_1891

 

This yummy guy is made with 100% whole wheat crust, organic pizza sauce, a delicious italian blend of cheeses, and piled high with roasted zucchini and bell peppers.

I got the recipe from an awesome website and the link below is the pizza recipe 🙂

http://sallysbakingaddiction.com/2014/01/22/roasted-vegetable-whole-wheat-pizza/

I was so happy with the outcome of my pizza that I will probably make another in a couple weeks after my upcoming 20 milers.

I spent the rest of the weekend relaxing and enjoying what little bit of summer I have left before school starts. My boyfriend went out and bought a slack-line, so we spent our evenings at the lake messing around on it. I could play around on that thing all day. It takes so much strength to balance on it, it is definitely a fun way to workout the muscles.

IMG_1880

We even got to watch an awesome sunset, so of course I started moving through different yoga positions; it was a perfect night. IMG_1894

I started week 12 of training today and I have my fingers crossed for a smooth journey until race day! Until next time! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

