Is It Race Day Yet?

Just stopping by to say that I conquered 19 miles on Sunday and I was able to walk the rest of the day πŸ™‚ I run an 8.5 mile loop at a local metro park, so when I realized I was going to have to do more than 2 loops my motivation plummeted. The great thing about this metro park though is that it is connected to another state park, so I was able to get 3 miles in over there which was my favorite part of the whole 19 miles because I love running in new places. Β When I woke up at 6am it was 40 degrees…brrrr. I wasn’t a happy camper because I love running in shorts and a tank top, but I really just have to roll with the punches because Michigan weather is bipolar. When I took off at 8:30am it warmed up to 44 degrees, so I kept my layers and worked with what I had. I have my fingers crossed that race day will be nice 70 degree day and when I start at 7am it won’t be too cold.

I took a GU at mile 7 and 14 which seemed to work fine for me, however I am wondering if I should switch to taking a GU every 5 or 6 miles. The package says every 45 minutes and I’m not really sure how I started the habit of every 7 miles, but I may just be over-thinking things because i’m nervous about race day. One thing I can say about fueling though is that after my long runs I am super hungry, but whenever I eat my stomach gets so upset and cramps up, it’s awful! I have no idea why and it’s really frustrating because it never lets up until the following day. If anyone has any tips or advice, I would love to hear!

I started this training week with 45 minutes on the bike followed by some upper body strength training. Yesterday, I got 5 miles in and finished with some lovely foam rolling (greatest thing ever). I went to an Ed Sheeran concert last night so I was up later than normal and I have an 8 mile run to log today. I am in no hurry to go out and tackle it because its only suppose to be a high of 65 today. That is one of the things I love about fall running weather; there are so many more hours in a day to go running in because you don’t have to worry about the mid-day heat. Β So I am going to sit here and enjoy my morning cup of tea since both of my classes got canceled today πŸ™‚

Have a good Thursday everyone! Happy Running πŸ™‚

 

 

Leave a Reply

