Final Countdown!

Well I guess this is it! I ran my last long run sunday today which consisted of eight miles and now it’s time to just sit back and relax until race day. I only have three small runs this week and when I say small, I mean really small. I have a three miler and  two, two milers before the big day. It was an absolutely gorgeous day today and my eight miles went by really fast. I decided since I only had eight to go, I was just going to push myself a tad bit harder than my normal pace and I was definitely feeling it when I finished.  I cannot express how excited I am for this race and the whole weekend in general!

More good news though, I went to the running store this week to buy some inserts for my shoes since I have been having foot pain and I can happily say I ran eight pain-free miles today! 🙂 I am going to keep up on the icing/massaging this week and hope that the decrease in milage makes me good as new!

After the run today, my boyfriend took me mountain biking again for my third time today and my legs weren’t happy with me, but I had such a blast I didn’t care. When I go running it’s my “me” time and I have plenty of time to think, but the great thing about mountain biking is that you are so in the moment with what’s up around the corner and what the next move will be, that you don’t have time to think about anything else. It’s a great way to escape from everything.

So here I sit, 6 days out until I’ll officially be a marathoner and I guess that’s what i’ll be doing a lot this week. I’ve been listening to everyone’s advice about just taking this down time to recover and carb load. It’s not going to be easy relaxing this week especially since I have so much nervous energy radiating throughout my body, but I know time will go by fast and i’ll be at the starting line soon enough! I am super excited to sit down and share my overall experience with training and everything I have learned from training for my first marathon.

Have a fantastic week everyone! 🙂

Leave a Reply

