I Can Do This!

Boy, oh boy am I ever excited! I went downtown yesterday to get my packet for race day and check out the expo and I may have spent a lot of money….oops. Oh well, I just kept telling myself “you only run your first marathon once!” So I came home with a bag filled to the top with new Detroit 26.2 gear, fuel, and a new belt for tomorrow! It really started to hit me that I am actually going to run this thing when we were walking around and everyone was just so excited. The atmosphere was so great and I think that is one of my favorite things about racing; it is awesome to get a bunch of people who are passionate about the same thing is one room. The energy is contagious and my nerves went away completely.

IMG_2196 IMG_2195

The nerves are back though. As soon as I woke up this morning it hit me that in less than 24 hours I will be running 26.2 miles, starting at 7am with a predicted temp of 32 degrees F. Brrrrr! I Wasn’t prepared for winter weather at all! The plan for today is to head over the salvation army to grab some warm hoodies and things because another thing I learned is that any clothes thrown away on the course just get donated, so I will definitely be taking advantage of that. I’m going to try to stay off my feet as much as possible today, but I will be taking some small walks throughout the day because they seem to help prep my body and mind. Yesterday was my big carb-load day because I found that for my body, lots of carbs the day before a long run makes me feel really heavy and I do not want to feel like that tomorrow. I will be eating lots of carbs today, however they will just be lighter carbs and I guess we will see how it all works out tomorrow. This whole journey leading up to race day has been a learning experience and I am remembering that tomorrow I will learn a whole lot more.

For now though, I have to snap back to reality and being a college student because midterms are next week (BOOOOO!). Don’t they know i’m running a marathon tomorrow? I don’t have time for this whole studying thing! Just kidding, school always comes first and I guess this is no exception. I hope everyone has a good weekend and I cannot wait to share my race day experience with you all!

“I dare you to train for a marathon and not have it change your life.”

Leave a Reply

