Rest and Recovery :)

What a month it has been since the Detroit Marathon! I took a 3 day break from running right after the race and that was about it. I started a reverse taper and to my surprise I PRed for my 10k and 8 mile distances. Oh and I signed up for the Turkey Trot in Detroit on Thanksgiving which is a 15k. I’m all about planning for the next race, it keeps me sane and gives me something to look forward too.

When I started training back in June, I knew I was going to get a tattoo in honor of the huge accomplishment and a couple weeks ago I decided on a design and I got it! ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_2419

“She believed she could so she did”

I was initially set on a 26.2 sketch, however 26.2 may not be my longest distance and I am not sure what the future has in store for me. ย A foot tattoo means no tennis shoes ๐Ÿ˜ฆ For the past 10 days I have been on the elliptical everyday and starting to strength train again, but I miss running. I think the time off will be very beneficial because I really didn’t give myself proper recovery time to let all of my pesky little injuries heal. I was going to go run at the park today, but as of right now the windchill is -5. I guess I will be on the dreadmill ugh.

More exciting news! I got to crew for my boyfriend in his 30 mile MTB race! He competed in the Iceman up in Kalkaska/Traversecity. His wave took off at 10:06am and when we arrived at the starting line, it was raining and cold. After the 2,000 other racers ahead of him took off, he said the trails were tore up and all mud. The temperature dropped and the rain turned to sleet. By the end of the race it was snowing and all of the guys were freezing…literally. After they got off their bikes they all were shivering and I felt so bad because it was hard for them to celebrate that moment they crossed the line. After a hot shower and warm clothes he was a lot happier and we got to enjoy the after party.

IMG_2352

Here he is after the finish line all covered in mud and freezing. It was nice to watch and cheer for once, rather than racing. I love the racing environment and I am so grateful it is something I get to experience with my best friend.

I have been slacking on the blog, but I really have just taken a step back from everything to relax after all of that commotion last month. It’s almost time for the holidays and I am excited for family time and good food ๐Ÿ™‚ Oh and not to mention I turn 21 in two weeks and i’m going on a Caribbean cruise for Christmas :)) Life is so great! I am currently making a rough outline of races for next year and which marathon I want to tackle. I’m heading out to Colorado to visit the university and go to wanderlust in the summer and I would love to race out there, so I hope the timing works out!

I hope everyone is staying warm in this crazy weather! What’s the coldest temp you will run in and what do you wear?

5 thoughts on “Rest and Recovery :)

  1. Cute tattoo! I love the runner! Coldest temps around -15c if it was a race (Eastern Canada). I wear long pants, merino wool socks, a few layers on top, hat/mitts and sometimes something over my neck/face.

  2. Awesome job on your marathon and your recovery! We don’t get much in the way of cold weather here in SoCal – I’d be pretty happy to get some days in the 40s, usually it’s too hot for me!

Leave a Reply

