The Holidays Have Arrived!

I hope everyone had a fantastic Thanksgiving and enjoyed tons of delicious food! I woke up at 4:45am on turkey day and headed back down to Detroit for my first Turkey Trot! It had been just about a month since the Detroit marathon and I was excited to be back in the city to take part in a fun/shorter run πŸ™‚ I ran the Drumstick Double which basically just means I ran the 10k and the 5k that morning. The race started at Campus Martius and it was absolutely beautiful with all of the Christmas lights and holiday decorations! Due to extremely long bathroom lines, I missed my wave and sprinted to catch up once I finally made it across the starting line. I came so close to a PR, but I am still happy with the run since it was a blast! For the 10k I placed 32nd out of 906 in my division and for the 5k I placed 38th out of 950. Turkey trots aren’t necessarily about racing since there are so many people and you constantly have to maneuver your way through everyone, but I was thankful to simply be out there running πŸ™‚

IMG_2460

The awesome thing about the Drumstick Double is that you get a medal for the 10k, 5k, and one for the Drumstick Double! So with 9.3 miles logged that morning, I indulged on a wonderful thanksgiving dinner πŸ™‚

Rather than spending black friday shopping, I headed to yoga with my friend and had a wonderful class that my legs desperately needed.

This morning my family is putting up the Christmas tree and pulling out all of the winter decorations! This is one of my favorite times of the year because there is so much going on πŸ™‚ My mom’s birthday is on sunday and my 21st birthday is on tuesday, followed by finals week and then I am heading south for a Caribbean cruise the week before Christmas! And it doesn’t stop there, since Christmas and New Years celebrations arrive quickly after!

I still have a huge apple pie left over from Thanksgiving, so I made cookies this morning as a birthday treat this week for my mom and I! I found this awesome recipe that called these cookies “healthier”, but I would say they are just “cleaner” in a sense. These chocolate chip cookies are sooooo yummy and do not disappoint!

IMG_2470

Prep time: 15 min | Cook time: 12 min | Total time: 27 min

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup virgin coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup lite brown sugar packed
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1 1/4 cupΒ Gold Medal Flour’sΒ white whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 1/4 cup chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line a large baking sheet with a silpat liner or parchment paper
  2. Place softened coconut oil into a large mixing bowl. Stir in sugars, beating until well combined. Add egg and vanilla, beating well. Add flour, baking soda, salt and chocolate chips, stirring until dough forms.
  3. Scoop dough onto prepared baking sheet placing 1 inch apart. Bake for 10-12 minutes, until slightly golden around the edges. Remove and let cool on baking sheet for 10 minutes before transferring. Serve and enjoy.

http://picky-palate.com/

I hope everyone is having a great start to the holiday season and finding ways to stay active with all of the yummy food this time of the year brings! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

