Hola Mis Amigos!

Wow it has been awhile!

I hope everyone is enjoying the holidays and I would have to say my winter break is going pretty well so far 🙂 I just returned from a seven day cruise to Mexico, Belize, Honduras, and Grand Cayman! It was absolutely incredible and adventuring everyday wore me out! I absolutely love to travel to new places and experience different cultures. We snorkeled, zip-lined, swam with sting rays and had a relaxing week moving from the pool to the beach. DCIM101GOPRO DCIM101GOPRO DCIM101GOPRO DCIM101GOPRO DCIM101GOPRO

My fitness life has taken a slower pace because I am recovering from an injury, so I took two weeks off of running and go my cardio in by using the bike and elliptical. It all started because I did a leg workout with my boyfriend and I lifted more than I should have. The following morning it felt as if I had ran a marathon. As the crazy runner that I am, I thought “oh running should loosen the muscles up and make things better,” it didn’t. I had excruciating knee pain and I could not walk at all. As of now, I have a lovely little knee brace and I have been running no more than three miles to make sure I let my knee heel properly. I haven’t stopped weight lifting though, I am just a lot smarter about the amount of weight I am using. The crazy weather has also allowed me to go mountain biking too and I forgot how much I loved it! Oh and I can’t forget yoga; my life saver. I received a one month unlimited yoga gift for Christmas and I am so excited about it! I am just trying to give my running muscles a rest and strengthen them before training starts again.

Speaking of future running events….

As of now I am registered for a half-marathon in late April and I am currently making my decision for which full marathon I am going to run in the fall. The choices are Detroit (again), Grand Rapids, or Chicago. When I decided I will share it with you all 🙂

Other exciting news is that I will be attending Wanderlust Aspen this summer again and I am looking forward to being in the mountains again! I cannot wait to be in the yoga festival environment again, it is incredible. Also, we may be taking a trip to Leadville, CO again for the boys to race the 50 mile MTB. The 50 mile run has been lingering in my mind, but I am not sure if I am ready yet. The altitude is insane and I wouldn’t even know how to go about training for that. Hmmm we will see 🙂 I really would like to race while we are out there, so fingers crossed!

For now I am going to enjoy the “off season” and the variety of other training I get to do 🙂 If you are a runner, what is your favorite “non-running activity?” and how do you stay on the bandwagon of fitness over the holidays?

2 thoughts on “Hola Mis Amigos!

Leave a Reply

