Slowly, But Surely

To be completely honest, this semester is kicking my butt and I am struggling to keep up. Unfortunately that means I haven’t been able to blog as much as I would like too. I have lots of good news though!

I have been going to physical therapy for the last 4 weeks and I have seen much improvement in my IT band. I have been running on the treadmill for rehab and slowly increasing my distance. I can’t run as fast as I would like, but some running is better than none at all! Foam rolling has become my new bff and KT tape has helped tremendously. I started training for an upcoming race two weeks ago and hopefully my knee cooperates!

Speaking of races, I have a small lineup put together! I will be running the Let’s Move Festival of Races Half-marathon April 26th with my boyfriend because our University sponsored students and we took full advantage of that. Also I have a 5k in Detroit to run with a friend which should be a blast and that is May 15th! On May 17th I will be running the Back To The Beach Half-marathon at Stoney Creek and I am really excited for that! Marathon training starts mid-june, so I will be looking for more races to fill in that training plan to prep for the Grand Rapids Marathon in October! I have my fingers crossed that everything will go smoothly and my knee will be a problem of the past.

I bought some new shoes since my old ones could have been adding to my knee problems and I LOVE them. I think I will continue to buy the same model because they were the ones I used for the majority of my training last year and I had zero problems. So lesson learned, why change a good thing? My wonderful boyfriend also bought me a pair of compression socks for Valentine’s Day -he knows the way to my heart haha. I cannot wait to get out and use them for some of my longer runs and for recovery!

IMG_2824

As of now though, it’s back to the textbooks and my treadmill. Hopefully my next update will be a lot sooner! Happy running everyone! 🙂

One thought on “Slowly, But Surely

Leave a Reply

