Baby Steps to Boston

Hi again!

Well I am just about halfway finished with week 4 of Boston training and so far so good! I had a long run of 14 miles on Saturday which went over better than expected. I think the hardest part about training during the winter (for me at least) is leaving my warm home to head out into the cold. During week 2 we had temps down in the single digits with a negative windchill, so I hit the treadmill for 12 miles. This past week I knew I needed to get some much loved outdoor time since all of my miles were logged inside the week before and running 14 miles on a treadmill did not sound appealing AT ALL. Lucky for me, on Saturday we had temps here in the mitten around the mid-20s. Heat wave!! Just kidding, but it did make for an enjoyable morning and I ended with a 7:48 average. If you would have asked me 3 years ago to run even just eight miles at that pace, I would have told you that you were out of your mind! It is incredible how the body begins to adapt and condition itself the more you run. I am really looking forward to this weekend’s 12 miler since it is supposed to be a steamy 48 degrees and sunny! I am learning to take each week of training day by day since the weather is so unpredictable, but it is so challenging because I am a compulsive planner. Sometimes I get jealous of everyone training down south -okay actually all the time. Anyways, I am lucky enough to have this opportunity to train for a race that means so much to me regardless of the weather conditions leading up to it.

Switching gears now.

Since my life consists of so much more than just running. I think it is important to include the “rest of me” within this space as well. This semester of grad school started up fairly quickly. Okay actually, this semester took off in a full sprint. One thing I have recognized over the past 2.5 weeks is how easy it is to become overwhelmed with the various aspects of life and get trapped in a negative mindset. I think what is important though, is being able to be aware of this trap and acknowledge it. Non-judgementally. I consistently have to stop myself as I’m spiraling downward and remember the bigger picture; where I am, how I got here, and how lucky I am to be here right now. I am by no means perfect. I am a work in progress and this is something I need to devote more time and space to. I’m still figuring everything out, but one thing I have recognized over time is that it is so much more enjoyable and easier to be stressed/busy/challenged with a positive mindset than a negative one. So what I am asking anyone who is reading this to do, maybe over the course of the next week or so, is to just try to become more aware and recognize when you start to feel overwhelmed or negative.

 

Until next time,

Danielle xoxo

Leave a Reply

