#RunFastEatSlow

I am bringing you a FABULOUS gluten-free banana bread recipe which was inspired by one of my favorite cook books (Run Fast Eat Slow), but due to being out of some ingredients, I had to make some swaps. So I present to you…(drum roll please)… banana oat almond bread!

banana bread.jpg

And they are just as good as they look! These little guys are a perfect pre-run snack. I did not have the spelt flour or walnuts that the original recipe called for, so I swapped those for oat flour and almonds. You can also make this recipe in one big loaf or muffins, or if you have a mini loaf pan that works too! Give these guys a try and I promise you won’t regret it!

Banana Oat Almond Bread

  • 1 1/2 c. oat flour
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp fine sea salt
  • 1 stick unsalted butter, room temp.
  • 1/4 c. sugar
  • 1 1/2 c. mashed banana (3-4 ripe bananas)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 c. chopped almonds
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease your baking pan.
  2. Combine flour, cinnamon, baking soda, and salt.
  3. In another bowl, beat together butter and sugar, then add bananas and vanilla until just combined.
  4. Pour wet ingredients over dry ingredients and stir until combined. Add almonds.
  5. If making muffins, bake 20-25 minutes. Loafs may take 50-60 minutes.
  6. Let cool on a wire rack and then enjoy!

I highly recommend the Run Fast Eat Slow cookbook to anyone looking forΒ whole food recipes. There are so many great recipes I cannot wait to try! Now that I have a brand new Ninja, I am looking forward to whipping up some great meals for the remainder of spring break to complement my training. Happy hump day everyone! (oh and only 48 more days until Boston!!!)

xoxo,

Danielle

Leave a Reply

