Six Weeks and Spaghetti Squash!

Six weeks until the BOSTON MARATHON! I still cannot believe I am going. It has been over a year since I ran the race that qualified me for the 2017 Boston Marathon and here we are, it’s 2017 and 41 days out from race day. Surreal. This past weekend I had 13 miles and if I would have signed up for an official race, I would have set a new PR! I did not run into hip pain until mile 10 and I was holding a 7:30 pace for my workout miles. I finished in 1:40:52/7:45mi avg. It was challenging, but it felt good! I also have been incorporating some hills into my runs (towards the end) to mimic the infamous heartbreak hill. I honestly have no idea what to expect at that point in the race, but hopefully i’ll survive it! I haven’t spoke much about it, but I have been dealing with some hip/IT band issues for quite sometime now and I finally went to the doctor to get a script for physical therapy. Since I really like my PT back home, I will be going back every weekend to squeeze in 6-8 sessions before take off. I think that are multiple things going on, so if I can at least get one of them under control I will be good to go!

Additionally I have another delicious meal prep to share with you all! As I have mentioned before in my other posts, I LOVE roasted veggies. So to continue with the trend, I prepped something for the week which can be altered in many different ways to keep things interesting.

spagetti-squash

To prepare the spaghetti squash:

  • I cut it in half and scraped out all of the seeds
  • Drizzled with olive oil and sprinkled with sea salt/ ground pepper
  • Filled a microwavable plate with a quarter inch of water and placed the spaghetti squash (cut side down) in the water
  • Microwave for 15-20 minutes or until squash is soft
  • Remove from microwave and let cool for 5-10 minutes and scrape the goodness out with a fork

 

To prepare the roasted veggies (sweet potatoes, bell peppers, and onion):

  • Preheat oven to 425 degrees fahrenheit
  • Chop all veggies up in similar size and thickness to ensure even roasting
  • Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and spread veggies evenly on sheet
  • Drizzle with olive oil, sea salt, and pepper
  • Optional: any of your favorite herbs or seasonings
  • Bake for 15 minutes, remove, and flip veggies
  • Bake for an additional 15 minutes or until veggies are starting to brown
  • Remove from oven and let cool

My favorite thing to do is divide the spaghetti squash into 4 or 5 different containers and top with the roasted veggies. Some days I eat them plain and other days I may add things like pesto or spaghetti sauce to add more flavor. It’s all about beating boredom with meal prep and I find that the more I can keep things basic during initial meal prep, the more freedom I have throughout the week to alter the flavor.

Off to go get today’s interval workout in and then I’m hitting the textbooks! Cannot wait for tomorrow’s rest day!

xoxo,

Danielle

 

Leave a Reply

