The Month Before Boston.

Well here we are! Tomorrow will be exactly 30 days until race day! Every time I am training for a marathon it is always at this point where I struggle. I have logged three 18 milers (one more 18-20 miler to go!) and have been training since the week after Christmas, so needless to say I am ready to do this!

Last week I started physical therapy to combat the IT Band and hip pain I have been dealing with for a lot of this training segment. Since I am away at school, I can only go once a week when I come home on the weekends. I am scheduled all the way up until race day though, so I am hoping it helps! I can already feel a difference after one session and I have been incorporating the strengthening and stretching exercises into my daily routine. I cannot wait to go back tomorrow!

Let’s talk about this past long run though. Michigan decided to welcome winter back with open arms and I had to bundle up for a 16 degree (windchill 7) long run and it was BRUTAL. It was sunny, but so deceiving. The wind was blowing, my lips were completely chapped, with all my gear I felt like I weighed an extra 20lbs, and every time I stopped for water I would immediately get cold and struggled to warm back up. Additionally, my nutrition plan failed. On a positive note, I now know what I will not be using on race day! I originally set out to do 20, but once I hit 18.5 I threw in the towel and called it good because my body was done. Once I got home and took a hot shower, I sat down on the couch and was completely exhausted. You may be thinking, “you should be tired, 18.5 miles is hard!”, however after most of my long runs I am able to carry out my weekend activities with just slight soreness. This time was different though. I had nothing else to give and I just wanted to go to bed. Since then I have felt off, like my body is fighting something. I am doing everything I possibly can to avoid getting sick and hopefully my efforts pay off!

After my long run, I was super hungry and wanted something warm. What do you do when you have a bunch of random vegetables hanging out in the kitchen? You get creative with spices and bring them all together. This dish was even boyfriend approved! I get so excited when I make something that he has never had before and it gets a good review.Β Screenshot_20170316-082135

I wish I could share with you all a formal recipe, but I was just making this on the fly, so I will give as much detail as possible in case anyone wants to give it a try!

First you are going to want to cook a spaghetti squash. Either microwave or oven. I cut mine in half, cleaned out the seeds, placed in a baking pan with 1-2 cups of water, and baked in the oven (350 degrees) for 30 minutes.

While that is cooking I pulled out a large sauce pan and started the magic. In an oiledΒ pan I cooked up a pound of ground turkey, with one small red onion, and diced zucchini. I did everything by taste, so to season the meat I used sea salt, ground pepper, and an italian seasoning mixture. Once the meat was cooked, I added a can of diced tomatoes, and then seasoned a little more to taste. While that was simmering, I decided to use my new spiralizer to make veggie noodles out of a random yellow squash that was in the fridge. I then added my “noodles” to the pan.

Once the spaghetti squash is done cooking, let cool for about 10 minutes, and then scrape out noodles with a fork. If you have never cooked a spaghetti squash before, I highly recommend watching some youtube videos! It is so easy!

Back to the pan on the stove, I added a half cup of cheddar cheese (any cheese will work, I only had cheddar) to thicken the mixture. Now you can add your spaghetti squash noodles to the pan and combine everything. This is also a place where I added more seasoning to balance everything out.

Once everything is well-mixed, grease a 8×8 baking dish, and turn the oven up to 375 degrees. Transfer the food from the pan into the baking dish, leaving behind as much of the liquid as possible. Bake for 30 minutes. Remove from oven, top with another 1/2 cup of cheese, place back in oven for another 5 minutes until cheese has melted and is golden brown. Remove from oven once again and let cool for 10 minutes.

This stuff is delicious!! I will definitely be whipping this up again soon! It was so easy to bring together and I decided it would make a good meal prep dish too! I know the kitchen can be intimidating at times, but sometimes my best meals are when I have no plan at all!

Now I am off to do more school things (blah). One month until Boston= One month until schools over! So excited! Happy Thursday everyone!

 

xoxo

Danielle

 

Leave a Reply

