Back on Track

As of yesterday, I have finished my first year of grad school at the University of Michigan! This time next year I will finally have my Master’s of Public Health Degree in Health Behavior & Health Education. Ever since returning from Boston life has been pretty chaotic. I am currently moving out of my apartment in Ann Arbor to head back home before I pack up again and leave next Thursday to go to Colorado for my 12 week internship. I am so excited, but time is just flying by.

I started my second recovery week post-boston marathon and I am feeling great! I went for a short run on Monday just to see how my body was doing and my legs are definitely still fatigued. I typically take two weeks off from running after a marathon to give my body a break from the impact of running. I have been sticking to the bike, elliptical and upper-body weights to keep the blood flowing and to aid the recovery process. No races planned yet, but I am sure that will change soon enough!

As promised on my insta, I have a great recipe to share with you all! After a week of indulging in whatever I wanted, it was time to get back on track and quite honestly, my body was craving fruits and veggies. It was one of those nights where I wanted something quick and easy to make without having to go to the grocery store. Luckily, I was stocked with everything I needed for stuffed bell peppers!

 

Bare with me here as this is another recipe that I simply threw together.

Ingredients

  • 3 bell peppers
  • Brown rice
  • Ground Turkey
  • Black beans
  • Red onion
  • 2-3 tomatoes
  • Low sodium fajita seasoning
  • Shredded cheese of your choice

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees fahrenheit
  2. Begin by preparing 4 servings of brown rice following instructions on the package
  3. Oil aΒ large skillet and start browning the ground turkey (I typically set my stove to medium-high heat)
  4. Once turkey is starting to brown, add chopped onion
  5. Dice the tomatoes
  6. When thoroughly cooked, add tomatoes, black beans, and packet of fajita seasoning to the skillet (continue cooking on low)
  7. When the rice is done, pour over meat, and mix well
  8. To prepare the bell peppers, carve the stem out like you are carving a pumpkin
  9. Remove any seeds or veins remaining on the inside of the peppers
  10. When you are ready, place bell peppers on a baking sheet (I put wax or parchment paper down) and fill peppers with the rice and meat mix
  11. When the peppers are filled, sprinkle the shredded cheese on top
  12. Place in oven for 10 minutes (or until cheese is melted)
  13. Remove and let cool
  14. Enjoy!

These are another great addition for Sunday meal preps! They make for a delicious and filling lunch or dinner. Well it’s back to packing for me! Happy Wednesday everyone!

xoxo,

Danielle

Leave a Reply

