Running at Elevation

Hello from Colorado!

Over the past couple weeks I have moved from Ann Arbor, back home, and now to Colorado! I will be here for the next 11 weeks while I complete my internship requirement for my program. I am at a wonderful nonprofit focusing on creating an equitable environment for healthy foods and physical activity. I am loving it so far and I cannot wait for the rest of the summer!

20170513_093954

Running here is an adjustment. The city, elevation, traffic- it’s been overwhelming, but I finally found an area where I can log quiet, nature-filled miles. Oh and the mountains are absolutely beautiful! I have been coasting between 15-20 miles per week just to start building a base again. With all of this extra downtime not in classes, I started looking into races and I am trying to figure out what I want to do this summer/fall. So many races that I want to do, but such limited funds! I am hoping to commit to something soon though because I do miss training…a lot. I feel like I am my best self when I am on a training regimen.

So my first weekend in Colorado I headed to Boulder and went on some incredible hikes. I actually hiked for a little over 7 hours and I was SO sore the next day. Totally worth it though! There is something so humbling about the mountains and finally making it to the top and looking out- it’s indescribable. It was the most technical hiking I have ever done and at one point I literally had to climb up a wall. It was so much fun!

20170513_111058

After a whole day of hiking I was starving and I headed straight to the kitchen as soon as I got home! I picked through what little groceries I had leftover from the week and threw together some southwestern style sweet potatoes. If you have skimmed through some of my other recipes you have probably caught on to the fact that I like things simple and as easy as possible, so that is exactly what this recipe is!

20170514_174113

Ingredients
-Sweet Potatoes
-Brown Rice
-Can of Black Beans
-Can of Diced Tomatoes
-Shredded Cheese
-Any type of southwestern style seasonings

Bake your sweet potatoes in an 425 degree oven for about 40 minutes or until they are soft all the way through. Follow the directions provided on the box of rice to make as many servings as you prefer (I made 4 servings and have been using the leftover mixtures for salads all week). Once the rice has cooked, add the can of diced tomatoes, drained/rinsed black beans, and your choice of seasonings. Simmer on low for about 5-10 minutes. Once the sweet potatoes are done cooking, slice in half, sprinkle some shredded cheese on the potato, add the rice/bean mixture, sprinkle on some more cheese and boom- dinner is served!

Snow is on the way right now, but it should be gone by the weekend and I will most likely be heading out for another hike and maybe a long run?! I haven’t ran over 6.5 miles since Boston, so we will see what my body is feeling! Additionally, I have joined the Move More Fitness team as an ambassador! I will be sharing more workouts and inspiration, so stay tuned! I am excited to join such a motivating community and continue working hard to move more, do more, no excuses! More details to come soon!

xoxo,

Danielle

Leave a Reply

